IT Support Engineer Career: 15 entry-level IT certifications to get started

IT Support Engineer Career: 15 entry-level IT certifications to get started

Start your career with IT support engineer certifications

  1. Apple Certified Support Professional (ACSP)
  2. AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner
  3. Certified ScrumMaster (CSM)
  4. Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA)
  5. Cisco Certified Technician (CCT)
  6. Comp TIA A+
  7. CompTIA IT Fundamentals+ (ITF+)
  8. CompTIA+ system
  9. CompTIA+ protection
  10. ITIL 4 Foundation
  11. Linux Essentials Professional Development Certification (PDC)
  12. Microsoft 365 Fundamentals
  13. Microsoft Technology Associate (MTA)
  14. Certified PMI in Project Management (CAPM)
  15. Security Systems Certified Practitioner

Apple Certified Support Professional (ACSP)

Support to Mac users as a help desk professional, technical administrator, or technical support professional. If you are looking at the included IT support engineer functions, it’s a solid test that shows how you can run Apple hardware and applications.

Court Fee: $ 250

AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner

In the AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner exam offered by Amazon, you will learn the basics of IT services and how they are used on the AWS cloud platform. The exam covers coding, cloud architecture design, cloud security, troubleshooting, implementation, migration, load and performance testing, and business applications.

Even though this is a start-up certification, six months of experience with AWS cloud services, use cases, billing, pricing models, security concepts, and how the cloud affects the business is recommended.

Exam cost: $ 100

Certified ScrumMaster (CSM)

A Certified ScrumMaster (CSM) is an entry-level certification that verifies your knowledge and skills using Scrum, a well-known agile development framework. The Master Scrum certification is important for anyone interested in becoming a Master Scrum, but it is also useful for anyone planning to become a software engineer, business analyst, or project manager.

  • Scrum and Agile,
  • Scrum theory,
  • Scrum values,
  • Scrum teams,
  • the role of the Scrum Master,
  • Scrum events, and
  • Scrum objects – will be examined.

Exam fee: From $ 400 to $ 1,000, depending on location and whether you choose an online, personal or hybrid course

Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA)

Cisco previously offered multiple CCNA certifications as part of its Certified Network Associate (CCNA) certification program, but it has recently consolidated all certifications into a single CCNA qualification. This new CCNA certification verifies your skills and knowledge in the following areas: networking, network access, IP connectivity, IP services, security basics, and automation.

A variety of foundation topics are covered in the CCNA certification, including the latest technologies.

This is a career certification designed to update you on the latest IT basics. Students should take this program if they are interested in starting a career.

Exam cost: $ 300

Certified Cisco Technician (CCT)

With a Cisco Certified Technician (CCT) certification, you can diagnose, restore, repair, and replace critical Cisco network and system devices on client sites. Datacenter and routing and switching are the two CCT paths available.

For engineers who support Cisco data center hardware and software, this course is recommended.

The Cisco Data Center System Devices (DCTECH) v2.0 course must be taken before you can take the exam.

Learn how to identify Cisco Unified Computing System (UCS) component models, accessories cables.

Supporting and maintaining Cisco routers, switches, and operating environments on-site is possible with the Cisco CCT Routing and Switching certification. This course is recommended for on-site technical support staff and other support staff working with Cisco Data Center solutions.

Exam fee: $ 125 for the exam

Comp TIA A+

It is a solid entry-level certification in the industry if you are interested in working in a related field. This certification verifies your ability to troubleshoot and resolve network, operating system, mobile device, and security issues.

And includes two exams: one covering mobile devices, networking technology, hardware, virtualization and cloud computing, and network troubleshooting. A second exam that covers installing and configuring the operating system, extending security, and troubleshooting software and operating procedures are also included.

Exam Fee: $232 per test

CompTIA IT Fundamentals+ (ITF+)

You will be able to validate your basic IT knowledge and gain a better understanding of how to work in the industry by taking the test.

This includes IT skills and knowledge such as the functions and features of common operating systems, setting up network connectivity, and identifying software applications.

The certification exam covers topics such as networks, infrastructure, IT concepts and terminology, software and applications, security, databases, and software development.

Continuing down the CompTIA certification path does not require any other certifications, so it’s a good starting point.

Exam Fee: $126

CompTIA Network +

Network + is an entry-level certification that covers communication concepts, solutions, functionality, tools, and security, as well as IT infrastructure. For junior community leaders, network professionals, junior staff, IS consultants, and network professionals, the certificate is designed.

Experience with setting up, managing, and managing network equipment; implementing and developing functional connections; and securing networks. This certification will set you apart from your competitors if you intend to work closely with IT networks.

Cost of test: $ 338

CompTIA Security +

A network, security, or system leader, specialist, junior IT auditor, security consultant, or security engineer would benefit from taking this course.

The US Defense Department approved a new assessment in November 2020 that complied with ISO 17024 standards.

This 90-minute test consists of threats, attacks, insults, architecture and design, technology and equipment, cryptography, and self-regulation.

When you earn your Certificate of Security +, employers will know that you can install and configure systems to store applications, networks, and security devices in compliance with the law.

Cost of test: $ 349

ITIL 4 Foundation

Axelos ITIL 4 framework is a popular management methodology designed to increase team efficiency and organizational performance. If you want to start a career in IT service management, this will be a good qualification for you. Topics covered in the exam include ITIL’s four principles, the four dimensions of service management, and key concepts such as Lean, Agile, and DevOps.

Exam fee: Varies depending on the seller

Linux Essentials Professional Development Certification (PDC)

A Linux Essentials Professional Development Certification (PDC) demonstrates your knowledge of Linux, a popular open-source operating system used in several industries. In addition to Linux hardware, software, processes, and applications, the exam covers system security, file permissions, and public and private files. The course also covers topics like open-source software, command-line tools, creating and running simple scripts, and working with compressed backups and archives. Students who plan to become IT designers, administrators, or engineers will most benefit from this program.

Exam fee: $ 120